2017 Board of Directors

Leadership and commitment

2017 Board of Directors

Back Row: (left to right) Andrew Lovell, NB; Fred Steele, BC; Robert Purton, SK; Brian Gilroy, ON; Jocelyn St-Denis, QC; Adrian Huisman, ON.

Front Row: (left to right) Bar Hayre, BC; Beth Connery, MB; Rebecca Lee, CHC Executive Director, ON; Alvin Keenan, President, PEI; Keith Kuhl, MB; Stephanie Levasseur, QC; Peter Swetnam, NS.

Photo: Jody Mott

Representative – Atlantic (President) Alvin Keenan (PE)
Representative – Ontario (1st Vice President) Brian Gilroy
Representative – BC (2nd Vice President) Bar Hayre
Representative – Ontario Adrian Huisman
Representative – Québec Stéphanie Levasseur
Representative – Québec Jocelyn St-Denis
Representative – Atlantic Peter Swetnam (NS)
Representative – Atlantic Andrew Lovell (NS)
Representative – Prairies (Past President) Keith Kuhl (MB)
Representative – Prairies Beth Connery (MB)
Representative – Prairies Robert Purton (SK)
Representative – BC Fred Steele

Member Representatives:   Each Member in good standing may designate in writing one (1) Member Representative to act on behalf of the Member at meetings of Members. A Member Representative may cast one (1) vote at meetings of Members on behalf of the Member in good standing he/she represents.

Board of Directors:  Two (2) Directors must be from each of the five geographical regions, namely, the Atlantic Provinces, the Province of Québec, the Province of Ontario, the Prairie Provinces and the Province of British Columbia. Such persons must first have been nominated by their respective regional caucus.

President: The President is a Director, chief executive of the Corporation and is appointed by the Board. The President is elected by the Board of Directors from those elected to the Board and may serve up to three (3) consecutive one year terms.

Past President: The Past President is a Director who has completed serving as President in the immediately preceding term. The past president stays on the Board for a period of one (1) year.

The national office is responsible for coordinating, communicating and advancing the needs of horticulture as directed by the Board of Directors and the Members on behalf of the membership.