Potatoes are Canada’s largest horticultural crop in terms of acreage, yield and farm cash receipts.  It is in part for this reason that the CHC Potato Committee is a very active and robust group.  The committee consists of numerous groups including the Seed Potato Sub-Committee, the Potato Breeding Working Group, the Promotion and Marketing Working Group, the Quality Assurance Working Group, the Plant Pest Response Working Group, and the Potato Task Force.

As with other CHC committees, the Potato and Seed Potato Sub-Committees are comprised of members who are growers and/or represent grower associations from the five producing regions (British Columbia, Alberta, Ontario, Québec, Atlantic) Together, they decide on and work with CHC staff and Government of Canada ministries on issues that affect potato production for that year.