2016 AGM: From across Canada to Ottawa

Tuesday Evening Welcome Reception

On Tuesday, CHC hosted our annual Welcome Reception.  Due to this year’s AGM being held in Ottawa, we were able to welcome over a dozen MPs and Senators. The evening was an excellent opportunity for members and industry partners to connect with elected officials and talk about Canadian horticulture.

Agriculture and Agri-food Minister Lawrence MacAulay attended the event speaking to attendees about the importance of horticulture to Canada’s economy and Canadian’s health.  The event was also attended by MP Pat Finnigan, Chair of the Standing Committee on Agriculture and Agri-food and Bev Shipley, Vice-chair of the Standing Committee on Agriculture and Agri-food.


New Board and Standing Committee Chairs Elected


Back Row (L – R): Andrew Lovell (Industry Standards and Food Safety), John Bareman (Potato), Denis Hamel (Co-vice-chair, Labour), Ken Forth (Trade and Marketing) Mark Wales (Finance and Business Management), Charles Stevens (Crop, Plant Protection and the Environment), Bar Hayre (Board Member – BC), Jocelyn St-Denis (Board Member – Québec), Jack Bates (Blueberry), Brian Gilroy (Board Member – Ontario, Apple and Fruit) Ernie Van Boom (Board Member – Prairies)

Front Row (L – R): André Plante (Vegetable), Linda Delli Santi (Greenhouse), Keith Kuhl (President), Stephanie Levasseur (Board Member – Québec), Alvin Keenan (Board Member – Atlantic)

Missing – Peter Swetnam (Board Member – Atlantic), Fred Steele (Board Member BC)

2016 Board of Directors Bios


Claude Laniel receives 2016 Doug Connery Award

As has become an annual tradition at the CHC AGM, we honour a leader in Canada’s horticulture industry. This year’s recipient is no exception. Claude Laniel has been a leader and champion for Canadian horticulture for decades.  This self-described “rural economist” served from 2000 – 2015 as the Executive Director of the Quebec Horticultural Council and as a member of the CHC Board for nearly ten years.  He contributed to the development of the CanadaGAP program and has a keen interest in research and innovation.


Thank you to our sponsors

CHC would like to extend a warm thank you to all of our sponsors who were able to help us in making this year’s AGM a success.