Apple and Fruit Committee

Canadian fruit growers produce a wide variety of fruit across the country. Despite the diversity of fruit and regions, certain issues affect all types of fruit. These issues include pesticide regulations, labour, and trade barriers. Members of the Canadian Horticultural Council (CHC)'s Apple and Fruit Committee collectively discuss and decide upon key issues and strategies for the coming year. Within this committee, the Apple Working Group and the Blueberry Working Group work with CHC staff and government agencies to advance issues affecting the production of those crops.

The Apple and Fruit Committee is comprised of CHC members who produce, pack, ship, and process fruit, as well as representatives from federal and provincial governments.

Chair: Brian Gilroy
Blueberry Co-Chair: John Handrahan
Tender Fruit Co-Chair: Phil Tregunno
Grape Co-Chair: Matthias Oppenlaender

To contact the Chair, call the National Office at: (613) 226-4880 or send an email.


About Brian Gilroy

Brian GilroyBrian Gilroy is President of CHC and is a member of the Georgian Bay Fruit Growers, which he has been part of since 1990. He has served as Chair of the Property Section of the Ontario Fruit and Vegetable Growers’ Association and is also past Chair of the Ontario Apple Growers. Brian owns Nighthawk Orchards near Meaford, Ontario, where he has farmed since 1987.

HortShorts newsletter

Keep up to the date with the latest news from CHC and issues affecting Canadian fruit and vegetable growers in our monthly e-newsletter.

Fresh Thinking magazine

Our free semi-annual bilingual print publication features high-level industry perspectives and useful tips for growers. Subscribe today!

Creating a Legacy

Our sponsorship and recognition program supports the success and longevity of Canada’s horticultural sector. Get involved and get recognized today!