Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP)

The Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP) is a trade agreement between Canada, Australia, Brunei, Chile, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore, the United States (until 23 January 2017), and Vietnam.

Since the U.S. announced it was pulling out of the partnership, the other 11 participating countries have continued to explore how to move forward on their own.

Among the CPTPP’s central benefits to Canada is a guarantee of preferential market access to seven new countries as part of the partnership. These new partner countries jointly represent new trade opportunities for Canadian exporters, as the agreement puts Canada in an advantaged position relative to countries that do not have free trade agreements with these trading partners, and ensures a level playing field with respect to other CPTPP competitors in these markets.

Current activities

  • The Canadian Horticultural Council (CHC) is waiting for a Government of Canada consultation period so that it may address how a multi-lateral agreement would affect CHC members.
  • CHC is monitoring discussions between the remaining countries and will consult with members on any potential impacts.

HortShorts newsletter

Keep up to the date with the latest news from CHC and issues affecting Canadian fruit and vegetable growers in our monthly e-newsletter.

Fresh Thinking magazine

Our free semi-annual bilingual print publication features high-level industry perspectives and useful tips for growers. Subscribe today!

Creating a Legacy

Our sponsorship and recognition program supports the success and longevity of Canada’s horticultural sector. Get involved and get recognized today!